Lamentations

LAMENTATIONS by Francisco de Peñalosa (1470-1528)

Français

Francisco de Peñalosa was born around 1470, sung at the royal court of Ferdinand of Aragon between 1498 and 1516, and officiated as a choirmaster at the Cathedral of Sevilla (1505-1511), of Burogs, and finally at the Papal Chapel in Rome (1518-1521).

Although he was one of the most prestigious predecessors of Cristóbal de Morales, his music was never widespread because he lived most of his time in Spain, far away from the first centers of musical printing (cities like Venice or Antwerp), so that he couldn’t take advantage of Gutenberg’s invention.

He composed three magnificent and poignant LAMENTATIONS for the Holy Week, three real treasures which only written source lies at the Cathedral of Tarazona (Manuscritos musicales 2 et 3), and which could well be the most ancient works of this type borne by the Iberian peninsula. They are well worth rediscovering, along with other more famous pieces of this style.

Approx. duration: 1h15
6 performers (6 singers)

Listen to the extract!

Sacrae cantiones >

< Cogita Mori

Lamentations

Francisco de Peñalosa (1470-1528)

Né autour des années 1470, Francisco de Peñalosa a travaillé comme chanteur à la cour du roi Ferdinand d’Aragon entre 1498 et 1516, et fut maître de chapelle à la Cathédrale de Séville (1505-1511), à celle de Burgos, ainsi qu’à la chapelle pontificale à Rome (1518-1521).

Peñalosa fut l’un des plus célèbres compositeurs espagnols de la génération précédant Cristóbal de Morales. Malheureusement pour lui sa musique n’a jamais été diffusée, car ayant vécu la plupart du temps en Espagne, loin de villes comme Venise et Anvers qui ont été les premiers centres de la musique imprimée, il n’a pu tirer profit de l’invention de l’imprimerie.

Ses trois magnifiques et poignantes Lamentations pour la Semaine Sainte, trésor musical à découvrir dont l’unique source provient de la Cathédrale de Tarazona (Manuscritos musicales 2 et 3), s’ajoutent à un corpus déjà connu d’œuvres de ce type par des compositeurs espagnols, mais pourraient être les plus anciennes écrites en terre ibérique.

Durée du concert : 1h15
6 interprètes (6 chanteurs solistes)

Écouter un extrait!

Sacrae cantiones >

< Cogita Mori